Franchising and licensing are business practices that can expand the market for one’s products, services or brand names by granting rights to their use to third parties. Conversely, they can allow one to build or grow their business by adopting already successful products or businesses. With specialized expertise in business law and intellectual property, as well as litigation, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall offers our clients efficient and intelligent support in franchising and licensing issues.

We offer counsel to franchisees/franchisors, importers/exporters, and manufacturers/suppliers in managing emerging franchises and licensing systems from the stages of first development, with the client’s unique business goals as our focus. Drawing from our various fields of practice in real estate, intellectual property, tax, litigation, corporate and international trade laws, we guide clients through the complexities of both domestic and international markets.

Our experience ranges from drafting agreements, managing negotiations, enforcement and termination of contract matters, through to governing acquisitions, employment issues, security interests, and advice on commercializing new products and technology. We have been able to assist clients from multiple areas of interest, ranging from hospitality, professional services, and retail industries, as well as technology and intellectual property licensing. With the deep business background of our team, we are able to advise clients on the value of unique products and businesses, and on the transfer of technology and trade-secrets.

Le franchisage et l’octroi de licences sont des pratiques commerciales qui peuvent élargir le marché des produits, services ou noms de marque au moyen de l’octroi de droits d’utilisation à des tiers. À l’inverse, ils peuvent permettre l’édification ou la croissance d’une entreprise au moyen de l’adoption de produits ou d’entreprises qui connaissent déjà du succès. Grâce à son expertise spécialisée en droit des affaires, en propriété intellectuelle et en litige, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall offre à sa clientèle un soutien efficace et intelligent au franchisage et à l’octroi de licences.

Nous offrons aux franchisés/franchiseurs, importateurs/exportateurs et fabricants/fournisseurs des conseils de gestion des systèmes émergents de franchise et de licence à partir du lancement en mettant l’accent sur les objectifs commerciaux uniques de notre clientèle. Inspirés par nos divers champs de pratique en immobilier, propriété intellectuelle, fiscalité, litige, droit des sociétés et commerce international, nous aidons les clients à régler les questions complexes afférentes aux marchés nationaux et internationaux.

Nous avons de l’expérience dans la rédaction de conventions, la gestion de négociations, l’exécution et la résiliation des contrats, les acquisitions, les questions d’emploi, les sûretés et les conseils sur la commercialisation de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles technologies. Nous avons pu aider une clientèle ayant de nombreux secteurs d’intérêt, allant de l’hébergement, des services professionnels et de la vente au détail à l’octroi de licences en technologie et en propriété intellectuelle. Grâce à la formation approfondie en affaires de notre équipe, nous pouvons conseiller notre clientèle sur la valeur de produits et entreprises uniques ainsi que sur le transfert de technologies et de secrets commerciaux.