Next to unraveling the humane genome, understanding the relevant law may be the most complex part of life sciences work. We help bring clarity by explaining your legal options in plain language.

The life sciences sector faces a broad spectrum of complex and constantly evolving legal issues. To offer the highest quality legal advice in this area requires specialized and devoted representation. At Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, we have a depth of technical, legal and business expertise advising start-up, early stage and mature companies in the biotech, bio-pharmaceutical, photonics, convergence, pharmacogenomics, ag-biotech, animal health and environmental sectors.

We work with research institutions including those associated with hospitals, government agencies and universities, corporate research operations, and technology transfer offices, as well as the venture capital and investment banking communities.

By drawing together a multi-disciplinary life sciences team from a number of practice areas including finance, corporate and commercial law, mergers and acquisitions, tax law and litigation, we can provide guidance and advice in a wide range of areas, including:

  • Access to research grants from governments and private funding agencies
  • Intellectual property, including developing and implementing intellectual property protection strategies, preparing and filing patents, and managing an intellectual property portfolio
  • Competition law and international trade
  • Federal and provincial regulatory compliance
  • The Food and Drug Act
  • Online sales
  • Marketing and price controls
  • Public policy
  • Privacy
  • Negotiating and structuring licensing arrangements and strategic alliances
  • Performing due diligence activities
  • Providing strategic advice on emerging legal issues and bioethics
  • Representing companies and investors in financing transactions
  • Resolving disputes

Après le décodage du génome humain, la compréhension des dispositions législatives pertinentes sont peut-être la partie la plus complexe du travail en sciences de la vie. Nous éclaircissons les choses en expliquant vos options juridiques en langage clair.

Le secteur des sciences de la vie fait face à un large éventail de questions juridiques complexes et en évolution constante. Pour offrir des conseils juridiques de la plus haute qualité dans ce domaine, il faut une représentation spécialisée et personnalisée. Chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, nous jouissons d’une vaste expertise technique, juridique et commerciale dans la prestation de conseils aux sociétés en démarrage, aux sociétés en développement et aux sociétés établies dans les secteurs de la biotechnologie, biopharmaceutique, photonique, convergence, pharmacogénomique, agrobiotechnologie, santé animale et les secteurs environnementaux.

Nous travaillons avec des institutions de recherche, y compris celles qui sont associées à des hôpitaux, des organismes gouvernementaux, des universités, des services de recherche de sociétés et des bureaux de transfert de technologie de même qu’avec les milieux du capital de risque et du courtage en valeurs mobilières.

En constituant une équipe pluridisciplinaire des sciences de la vie à partir de plusieurs domaines de pratique, notamment le financement, le droit des sociétés, le droit commercial, les fusions et acquisitions, le droit fiscal et le litige, nous pouvons fournir indications et conseils dans une vaste gamme de domaines, notamment :

  • L’accès aux subventions de recherche accordées par les gouvernements et les organismes de financement privé
  • La propriété intellectuelle, y compris le développement et l’application de stratégies de protection de propriété intellectuelle, la préparation et le dépôt de brevets ainsi que la gestion d’un portefeuille de propriété intellectuelle
  • Le droit de la concurrence et le commerce international
  • La conformité à la réglementation fédérale et provinciale
  • La Loi sur les aliments et drogues
  • Les ventes en ligne
  • La commercialisation et le contrôle des prix
  • Les politiques publiques
  • La vie privée
  • La négociation et la structuration d’ententes de licence et d’alliances stratégiques
  • L’exercice d’activités de contrôle préalable
  • La prestation de conseils stratégiques sur les questions juridiques émergentes et la bioéthique
  • La représentation de sociétés et d’investisseurs dans le cadre d’opérations de financement
  • Le règlement des différends