Perley-Robertson, Hill and McDougall is recognized as industry leaders, providing a full range of legal services in connection with public-private partnerships. We have provided counsel to governments and governmental entities, investors, developers and lenders involved in these transactions.

Public-private partnerships can be born from a variety of needs. There are large-scale public projects where government looks for private partners to help in financing. There are business projects with public-good implications that may be offered public land or financing (which may also be intended to protect the public from private monopolization). Infrastructure from hospitals to convention centres may be built privately using public land. Whatever the genesis, such projects are usually complex and require an understanding not just of the project itself, but of the nature of, and restrictions on, the government agencies involved.

Our commercial real estate lawyers have unmatched experience in this unique area. We helped lead the creation of the complex policy framework and legal structure for the Ontario Government’s participation in public-private partnerships. Our multi-faceted system has since been used for the construction of multiple hospitals in Ontario.

To facilitate public-private partnerships, we work closely with other advisors as required. Internally, we draw on the expertise of lawyers specializing in mergers and acquisitions, tax law, capital markets, project finance, banking, real estate law, labour and employment law, pensions, competition, intellectual property, information technology law, environmental, administrative, regulatory and municipal law.

Perley-Robertson, Hill et McDougall est reconnu comme chef de file de l’industrie, procurant un éventail complet de services juridiques afférents aux partenariats public-privé. Nous avons donné des conseils à des gouvernements et à des entités gouvernementales, à des investisseurs, à des promoteurs et à des prêteurs participant à ces opérations.

Une variété de besoins peut donner naissance à des partenariats public-privé. Il y a des projets publics à grande échelle pour lesquels le gouvernement recherche des partenaires privés pour contribuer au financement. Il y a des projets commerciaux ayant des incidences sur le bien public pour lesquels on peut offrir des terres publiques ou du financement public (ce qui peut aussi viser à protéger le public contre la monopolisation privée). De l’infrastructure, comme des hôpitaux ou des centres de congrès, peuvent être construites par le secteur privé sur des terres publiques. Peu importe leur origine, de tels projets sont généralement complexes et nécessitent une compréhension non seulement des projets eux-mêmes, mais de la nature des organismes gouvernementaux en cause et des restrictions qui leur sont imposées.

Nos juristes de l’immobilier commercial ont une expérience sans égale dans ce domaine unique. Nous avons contribué à la création du cadre stratégique et de la structure juridique complexe de participation du gouvernement de l’Ontario aux partenariats public-privé. Notre régime à plusieurs volets a depuis été utilisé pour la construction de plusieurs hôpitaux en Ontario.

Pour faciliter les partenariats public-privé, nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec d’autres au besoin. À l’interne, nous tirons profit de l’expertise de juristes spécialisés dans les fusions et acquisitions, le droit fiscal, les marchés financiers, le financement de projets, les services bancaires, le droit immobilier, le droit du travail et de l’emploi, les pensions, le droit de la concurrence, la propriété intellectuelle, le droit de la technologie de l’information, le droit environnemental, administratif et réglementaire ainsi que le droit municipal.