Skip to content

A firm Partner, Dirk Bouwer has provided primary leadership on complex mergers, acquisitions and financings ranging in price up to approximately $250 Million, making irreplaceable contributions to our clients’ businesses within the Business Law Group at Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall. Dirk has more than 20 years experience as a business lawyer in Ottawa, leading corporate and commercial transactions including mergers, acquisitions, dispositions, and debt and equity financings. His experience across a wide range of industry sectors includes manufacturing, professional services, retail, telecommunications, cleantech and health. In addition to his legal and business credentials, Dirk offers the added expertise of a registered Trade-Mark agent.

His extensive experience allows him to quickly size up commercial transactions: to grasp the value of a transaction and to ensure that the right level of due diligence is performed. Dirk can be counted on to quickly identify potential problems or challenges; prepare requisite documents of transfer; and close any transaction with a high level of efficiency and professionalism. Timing can be crucial in commercial transactions, and our client’s time is always valuable. Dirk’s frank, straightforward approach, strong business acumen and unwavering commitment to client service have profited our clients greatly.

Dirk is active in the regional business community. Since January 2012, he has been on the Board of Directors of the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce, since June 2014 he has served on its Executive Committee and since January 2017 has served as its Vice-Chair (acting). Dirk was also President of the Kanata Chamber of Commerce from 2003 to 2004.

  • Credentials:
    • Admitted to the Ontario Bar, 1994
    • LL.B., McGill University, 1992
    • B.A. (Hons.), Saint Thomas University, 1989
    Memberships/Affiliations:
    • Ottawa Chamber of Commerce (Vice-Chair, Acting)
    • Ottawa Chamber of Commerce (Director)
    • Kanata Chamber of Commerce (Past President)
    • Registered Canadian Trade-mark Agent
    • Canadian Bar Association
    • Law Society of Upper Canada
    • County of Carleton Law Association
    • Board of Directors of the West Ottawa Soccer Club
    Professional Activities:
    • Former instructor, Bar Admission Course, Law Society of Upper Canada
    Articles/Publications:
Search our people by last name

Avancer au contenu

À titre d’associé, Me Dirk Bouwer a joué un rôle de premier plan dans des fusions complexes, des acquisitions et des opérations de financement pouvant atteindre 250 M$, contribuant ainsi de manière irremplaçable aux affaires de nos clients du Groupe du droit commercial chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall. Me Bouwer a plus de 20 années d’expérience dans la direction de transactions administratives et commerciales, notamment des fusions, des acquisitions, des cessions, et du financement par emprunt et par actions. Son expérience couvre une vaste gamme de secteurs d’activités notamment les industries manufacturières, les services professionnels, le détail, les télécommunications, les technologies propres et la santé. Outre ses compétences en droit et en affaires, Me Bouwer possède les compétences ajoutée d’un agent de marques de commerce agréé.

Sa vaste expérience lui permet d’évaluer rapidement les transactions commerciales afin de comprendre la valeur d’une transaction et de veiller à lui accorder un degré convenable de diligence raisonnable. On peut compter sur Me Bouwer pour cerner rapidement les difficultés et les défis potentiels; préparer les documents de transfert nécessaires; et clore toutes transaction avec une grande efficacité et beaucoup de professionnalisme. Le choix du moment est souvent essentiel pour les transactions commerciales et le temps de nos clients est toujours précieux. L’approche franche et directe de Me Bouwer, son sens aigu des affaires et son engagement indéfectible à l’égard du service à la clientèle ont servi formidablement les intérêts de nos clients.

Me Bouwer est actif dans le milieu des affaires régionales et il a récemment terminé son mandat en tant que président de la Chambre de commerce de Kanata. Depuis janvier 2012, il siège au Conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce d’Ottawa, et depuis juin 2014 sur son comité exécutif.

  • Titres professionnels :
    • Admis au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1994
    • Baccalauréat en droit, Université McGill, 1992
    • Baccalauréat (spécialisé), Université Saint Thomas, 1989
    Membre/adhésion :
    • Chambre de commerce d'Ottawa, (le vice-président par intérim)
    • Chambre de commerce d'Ottawa, (Director)
    • Chambre de commerce de Kanata (ex-président)
    • Agent de marques de commerce agréé (Canada)
    • Association du Barreau canadien
    • Barreau du Haut-Canada
    • Association du Barreau du comté de Carleton
    • Board of Directors of the West Ottawa Soccer Club
    Activités professionnelle :
    • Ancien instructeur, Cours d’admission au Barreau, Barreau du Haut-Canada
    Articles/publications :
Chercher les gens par nom de famille