Skip to content

Joël M. Dubois is one of our litigation lawyers in Ottawa. He began his career with Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall as an Associate in the Litigation Law Group in 2005. Having gained extensive expertise and successful experience in a diverse range of litigation areas including employment and labour, administrative law, disciplinary proceedings, general civil litigation, commercial litigation and intellectual property law, Joël was named Partner in 2013.

Joël has represented many corporations, associations and individuals in a variety of litigation proceedings. His experience ranges from enforcing intellectual property rights to advocating for his clients in a variety of contractual disputes and employment law matters. He has appeared before a variety of administrative boards and tribunals as well as the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, the Divisional Court, the Court of Appeal for Ontario, the Federal Court, the Federal Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court of Canada.

Joël is also an active member of the firm’s police law team and handles many police regulatory matters on behalf of police management. These include conducting prosecutions under the Police Services Act; appeals to the Ontario Civilian Police Commission; human rights tribunal proceedings; interest and rights arbitrations; as well as civil proceedings involving the police. Joël also uses his experience and expertise to provide advice and guidance to large and small municipal police services and their boards on various issues.

He is fluently bilingual and practices law in both official languages.

Perley-Robertson, Hill and McDougall has built its record of delivering the best and most efficient solutions, while minimizing the risks and costs inherent in lengthy dispute resolution, through the expertise and integrity of lawyers like Joël.

  • Selected Experience:
    • Chair, Student Recruitment, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, 2014 – Present
    • Partner, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, 2013 – Present
    • Associate, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, 2005 – 2013
    Credentials:
    • Admitted to the Ontario Bar, 2003
    • LL.B., French language Common Law program, Magna cum laude, University of Ottawa, 2002
    • B.A., Law & Justice and Political Science, Laurentian University, 1999
    Memberships/Affiliations:
    • Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police
    • Law Society of Upper Canada
    • The Advocates’ Society
    • Canadian Bar Association
    • Ontario Bar Association
    • County of Carleton Law Association
    • Regroupement des gens d'affaires de la Capitale nationale
    • Association des juristes d'expression française de l’Ontario
    Professional Activities:
    Community Involvement:
    Articles/Publications:
Search our people by last name

Avancer au contenu

Me Joël M. Dubois est l'un de nos avocats en litige dans la région d'Ottawa. Admis au barreau en 2003 il a entrepris sa carrière chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall comme avocat au sein du Groupe du litige en 2005. Ayant acquis des connaissances approfondies et une grande expérience dans une vaste gamme de domaines de contentieux tels le droit de l’emploi et du travail, le droit administratif, les procédures disciplinaires, le contentieux des affaires civiles, les litiges commerciaux et le droit de la propriété intellectuelle, Me Dubois a été nommé associé en 2013.

Me Dubois a représenté bon nombre de sociétés, d’associations et de particuliers dans toutes sortes d’instances, qu’il s’agisse de faire respecter des droits de propriété intellectuelle ou de défendre les intérêts de ses clients dans une variété de différends contractuels et de causes de droit de l’emploi. Il a comparu devant un éventail de commissions et de tribunaux administratifs et devant la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario, la Cour divisionnaire, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, la Cour fédérale, la Cour d’appel fédérale et la Cour suprême du Canada.

Membre actif de l’équipe du droit policier du cabinet, Me Dubois s’occupe de nombreuses affaires réglementaires de la police pour le compte de l’administration policière. Il mène notamment des poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur les services policiers, des appels devant la Commission civile de l’Ontario sur la police, des instances devant le Tribunal des droits de la personne, des arbitrages de différends et de droits, ainsi que des affaires civiles mettant en cause la police. En outre, Me Dubois s’appuie sur son expérience et ses compétences pour conseiller de grands et petits services de police municipaux et leurs commissions relativement à diverses questions.

Me Dubois est parfaitement bilingue et pratique le droit dans les deux langues officielles.

C’est grâce à l’expertise et à l’intégrité d’avocats comme Me Joël M. Dubois que le cabinet Perley-Robertson, Hill et McDougall s’est bâti la réputation de trouver les solutions les meilleures et les plus efficaces, tout en réduisant au minimum les risques et les coûts inhérents à de longs règlements.

  • Expérience pertinente :
    • Président du Comité des stagiaires, Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, depuis 2014
    • Associé chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, depuis 2013
    • Avocat chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, de 2005 à 2013
    Titres professionnels :
    • Admission au barreau en 2003
    • Baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.), programme de common law en français, Magna cum laude, Université d’Ottawa, 2002
    • Baccalauréat ès arts (B.A.) spécialisé en droit et justice et en science politique, Université Laurentienne, 1999
    Membre/adhésion :
    • Association des chefs de police de l'Ontario
    • Barreau du Haut-Canada
    • The Advocates’ Society
    • Association du Barreau canadien
    • Association du Barreau de l’Ontario
    • Association du Barreau du comté de Carleton
    • Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la Capitale nationale
    • Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario
    Articles/publications :
Chercher les gens par nom de famille