Skip to content

Joshua P. Moon, a Partner at Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall and one of our most experienced real estate and administrative lawyers in Ottawa. He is a leading legal practitioner in municipal planning, land development, commercial leasing, project finance, administrative law, and P3 infrastructure projects. He has successfully represented clients before numerous municipal councils and administrative tribunals, including the Local Planning Appeal Tribunal (formerly the Ontario Municipal Board).

Josh joined the firm’s Real Estate Law Group in 1999 not only with impeccable legal credentials, but with extensive hands-on experience. Prior to joining the firm, he was Vice-President, General Counsel, and Director of Development for an Ottawa based property management and development company. Josh was a senior executive in property management and commercial development for almost a decade. In addition to his expertise in the law, Josh knows the National Capital Region, the market, the regulations and the people. With this solid, broad background, Josh manages major real estate transactions and projects with great efficiency, providing his clients with clarity and direction in a complex environment.

The law is often discussed in the theoretical realm, yet the impact of a legal decision is very real. A favorable determination or creative solution in infrastructure or land development projects can make the difference between breaking ground or not. Josh has been successful in getting client results.

  • Credentials:
    • Admitted to the Bar, 1987
    • LL.B., Osgood Hall Law School, 1985
    • Bachelor of Environmental Studies, School of Urban and Regional Planning, University of Waterloo, 1980
    Memberships/Affiliations:
    • Canadian Bar Association
    • Law Society of Upper Canada
    • Ottawa Chamber of Commerce
    Professional Activities:
    • Member, Board of Directors, Larrimac Golf and Tennis Club, Chelsea, Quebec, 2009-2016
    • President, Larrimac Golf and Tennis Club, Chelsea, Quebec, 2012-2015
    • Elected Councilor, Municipality of Chelsea, Quebec, 2004-2009
    • Board of Directors (Six Years) and Past Corporate Secretary, Building Owners and Managers Association
    • Past Chair, Downtown Rideau Board of Management
    • Past Co-Chair, Building Owners and Managers Association Ottawa Telecommunications Education Committee
    • Annual Lecturer, Building Owners and Managers Institute, Law Risk Management for Property Managers
    Articles/Publications:
    • "Leasehold Improvements:  Who Pays?", Ottawa Business Journal, November 2007.
    • "Municipal Finance is not the Same as Corporate Finance", Ottawa Business Journal, May 2007.

     

     

Search our people by last name

Joshua P. Moon

Associé

Joshua P. Moon, associé chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, est l’un de nos avocats les plus expérimentés en droit immobilier et en droit administratif, à Ottawa. Me Moon est un juriste de premier plan dans les domaines de la planification municipale, de l’aménagement de terrain, de la location commerciale, du financement de projets et, plus récemment, du droit administratif et des projets d’infrastructures P3. Il a représenté des clients avec succès devant de nombreux conseils municipaux et tribunaux administratifs, notamment la Commission des affaires municipales de l’Ontario.

Me Moon a enrichi l’équipe du droit immobilier de notre cabinet en 1999 non seulement de titres professionnels impeccables, mais aussi d’une vaste expérience pratique. Avant d’arriver au cabinet, il était vice-président, avocat général et directeur de l’aménagement d’une société de gestion et d’expansion immobilières d’Ottawa. Me Moon a été cadre supérieur en gestion immobilière et en développement commercial pendant près d’une décennie. En plus de ses compétences en matière de droit, Me Moon connaît la région de la capitale nationale, le marché, la réglementation et les gens. Fort de ces antécédents solides et diversifiés, il gère des opérations et des projets immobiliers importants avec beaucoup d’efficacité, en guidant ses clients dans un environnement complexe.

Bien que les discussions en matière de droit soient souvent d’ordre théorique, les répercussions d’une décision juridique sont, quant à elles, très réelles. Un jugement favorable ou une solution créative dans le cadre des projets d’infrastructure ou d’aménagement de terrain peut faire toute la différence entre la possibilité ou l’impossibilité de donner le premier coup de pelle. Me Moon réussit à obtenir des résultats pour ses clients.


Titres professionnels
  • Admis au barreau en 1987
  • Baccalauréat en droit, Osgood Hall Law School, 1985
  • Baccalauréat en études environnementales, École de planification urbaine et régionale, Université de Waterloo, 1980
Membre/adhésion
  • Association du Barreau canadien
  • Barreau du Haut-Canada
  • Chambre de commerce d’Ottawa
Activités professionnelle
  • Membre du Conseil d’administration, Larrimac Golf and Tennis Club, Chelsea, Quebec, 2009-2016
  • President, Larrimac Golf and Tennis Club, Chelsea, Quebec, 2012-2015
  • Conseiller élu, Municipalité de Chelsea, Québec, 2004-2009
  • Membre du Conseil d’administration (pendant six ans) et secrétaire d’entreprise sortant, Building Owners and Managers Association
  • Président sortant, Downtown Rideau Board of Management
  • Coprésident sortant, Ottawa Telecommunications Education Committee, Building Owners and Managers Association
  • Conférencier annuel sur la gestion des risques juridiques à l’intention des gestionnaires d’immeubles, Building Owners and Managers Institute
  • Vice-président et administrateur, Club de golf Larrimac, Chelsea, Québec
Articles/publications
  • “Leasehold Improvements:  Who Pays?”, Ottawa Business Journal, November 2007.
  • “Municipal Finance is not the Same as Corporate Finance”, Ottawa Business Journal, May 2007.
Domaines d'expertise