However complex the transaction, and whatever the size, mergers and acquisitions (M & A) are always about improving one’s business position. At Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall we have the industry leading experience to see the big picture, and ensure that transactions are structured to maximize the value for our client’s unique business goals. Matched with an unwavering attention to the constituent details, our clients can proceed with large-scale transactions with clarity. Our M & A team structures, negotiates and drafts share and asset purchases and sale agreements, as well as other documents required to negotiate and to finalize business transactions. Timing is often a critical element in corporate transactions, and efficiency is a hallmark of our firm’s Business Law Group.

As part of our M & A activities, we are involved in the establishment of joint ventures or limited partnerships for acquisition purposes, launching and defending hostile takeover bids and proxy battles, buyouts, disposition of assets and business divisions. We also advise on corporate governance issues related to M & A.

With our international expertise and global network of legal and business alliances, we are able to lead in cross-border transactions, navigating tax and regulatory issues and foreign capital markets to best position our clients. We also assist foreign acquirers, including state-owned entities, with the Investment Canada Act approvals processes.

The M & A team is supported by our firm’s in-house expertise in taxation, real estate, employment, intellectual property, securities and corporate law.

Peu importe la complexité et l’ampleur d’une opération, les fusions et acquisitions (F et A) visent toujours à améliorer une position commerciale. Chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall, nous disposons de l’expérience sectorielle de pointe nécessaire pour voir l’ensemble du tableau et veiller à ce que les opérations soient structurées de manière à maximiser la valeur pour les objectifs commerciaux uniques de notre clientèle. Bénéficiant d’une attention inlassable au détail, notre clientèle peut donner suite aux opérations à grande échelle avec clarté. Notre équipe de F et A structure, négocie et rédige des conventions d’achat et vente d’actions et d’actif de même que d’autres documents requis pour négocier et finaliser des opérations commerciales. Il est souvent essentiel de réaliser au moment opportun les opérations des sociétés, et l’efficacité est une marque du Groupe du droit des affaires de notre cabinet.

Dans le cadre de nos activités de F et A, nous participons à la constitution de coentreprises ou de sociétés en commandite aux fins d’acquisition, au lancement et à la défense d’offres d’achat hostiles et à des courses aux procurations, des rachats, des aliénations d’actif et de divisions commerciales. Nous fournissons aussi des conseils sur les questions de gouvernance relatives aux F et A.

Grâce à notre expertise internationale et à notre réseau mondial d’alliances juridiques et commerciales, nous pouvons mener la voie dans les opérations transfrontalières, manœuvrant dans les dédales fiscaux et réglementaires et les marchés financiers étrangers, pour positionner le mieux notre clientèle. Nous aidons aussi les acquéreurs étrangers, y compris les entités d’État, à suivre la procédure d’approbation de la Loi sur Investissement Canada.

L’équipe de F et A est soutenue par l’expertise interne de notre cabinet en fiscalité, en immobilier, en emploi, en propriété intellectuelle, en valeurs mobilières et en droit des sociétés.