Skip to content

An experienced Ottawa lawyer with over 30 years of experience, Tim McCunn is member of the Business Law Group at Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall. Tim’s practice is focused on corporate/commercial and securities law with particular emphasis on mergers and acquisitions and corporate finance for the technology and life science sectors.

Clients include a wide variety of entities from entrepreneurs, mid-market corporations to crown corporations, and not-for-profit organizations. With respect to the private sector, specific assignments include board and governance advice, initial public offerings, private placements, credit agreements, capital pool corporations, reverse take-overs, take-overs, purchase and sale transactions, independent committee counsel, joint ventures, licensing/co-development and distribution arrangements as well as complex commercial agreements. Representative transactions include: the privatization of a large crown corporation, the negotiation of a $275 million phased acquisition of a technology company, the formation and merger of venture capital funds; initial public offerings of Milkyway Networks, C-Com Satellite Systems, Neuromedix, Saxon Financial Inc., Canadian Medical Discoveries Fund Inc., Canadian Science and Technology Fund Inc., Annidis Corporation, Aztech Corporation, Magor Corporation, Percy Street Capital, Mercal and numerous share and asset sales, financings and private and public placements. I was also the founder and counsel to two technology incubators: Starting Start-ups and Bioquest Innovations and founder and counsel to a life science merchant bank: LOM-Bioquest.

Tim is also experienced working with not-for-profit organizations and public entities. He has provided board and governance advice, legislative drafting, and opinion work on a wide variety of issues as well as representations to government. In 1992, he was seconded to the Privy Council Office as Special Counsel to advise on the drafting of the Referendum Act as well as other matters related to the 1992 constitutional referendum. Tim has provided opinion work and other advice to numerous organizations, including may Crown Corporations and national associations. Tim’s experience in federal law also includes the privatization of crown corporations, and he has appeared as counsel before the Canadian International Trade Tribunal and the Competition Tribunal on customs and excise matters and access to information and privacy matters.

Tim is fluently bilingual and has been recognized repeatedly in Canadian Legal Lexpert’s Directory in the area of Corporate Commercial Law; Corporate mid-market and Private Equity.

  • Credentials:
    • Admitted to the Ontario Bar, 1987
    • LL.B., University of Ottawa, 1985
    • B.A., McGill University, 1982
    Memberships/Affiliations:
    • Law Society of Upper Canada
    • Canadian Bar Association
    • Ontario Bar Association
    • County of Carleton Law Association
    Professional Activities:
    • Founder and CEO, Mercal Capital Corp (2016 to present)
    • Founder and CEO, Percy Street Capital Corp (2015 to present)
    • Founder and CEO, LiveWell Foods Canada Inc. (2015 to present)
    • Editorial Board, Securities Law and Practice, 3rd Edition (until 2013)
    • Director - Smarter Alloys (2014 - Present)
    • Founder and Corporate Secretary - Biovest Corp. I (2010 to 2013)
    • Director Verio Therapeutics (2009 - 2010)
    • Director and Corporate Secretary - Annidis Corporation (2007 – 2013)
    • Chairman and Director - CogniSens Inc. (2009 – 2012)
    • Chairman, Naturola Health Inc. (2014-2015)
    • Member - Advisory Board to the University of Ottawa’s Management School (2005 – 2007)
    • Director - NeuroMedix (2005 - 2006)
    • Member - Commercialization Advisory Committee to the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (2003 – 2005)
    • Director and Chairman - C-Com Satellites Systems (1999 - 2001)
    • Founder and Director - Technology Investments Management Inc. (1998 – 2002)
    • Member - Business Law Committee to the Canadian Bar Association (Ontario) 1998 – 2000
    • Founder and Director - Starting Start-ups (1996 – 1998)
    • Member - Securities Law Sub-committee to the Canadian Bar Association (Ontario) 1996 – 1998
    • Member - Ottawa Life Science Council (2001 – 2005)
    • United Way Campaign Account Executive (1995)
    • Legal Counsel and elected delegate to several leadership conventions for a federal and provincial political party (1982 – 1997)
    Articles/Publications:
Search our people by last name

Avancer au contenu

Avocat chevronné d’Ottawa possédant plus de 25 ans d’expérience, Me Tim McCunn est membre du Groupe du droit des affaires de Perley-Robertson, Hill et McDougall. La pratique de Tim est axé sur le droit corporatif, commercial et immobilier, et il accorde une attention particulière aux fusions et aux acquisitions, ainsi qu’au financement des entreprises pour les secteurs de la technologie et des sciences de la vie.

Parmi ses clients, il convient de mentionner une vaste gamme d’entités depuis des entrepreneurs, des entreprises de taille moyenne et des sociétés d’État, sans oublier les organisations sans but lucratif. Pour ce qui est du secteur privé, ses affectations spéciales comprennent la fourniture de conseils sur les conseils d’administration et la gouvernance, les placements initiaux de titres, les placements privés, les conventions de crédit, les sociétés de fonds communs d’immobilisation, les prises de contrôle inversées, les prises de contrôle, les transactions d’achat et de vente, la fonction de conseiller juridique auprès de comités indépendants, les coentreprises, les conventions d’habilitation, de codéveloppement et de distribution, ainsi que des conventions commerciales complexes. Les transactions à caractère représentatif comprennent, entre autres, la privatisation d’une grande société d’État, la négociation d’une acquisition échelonnée de 275 millions de dollars d’une compagnie de technologie, la fusion de fonds de capital‑risque évalués à 80 millions de dollars, les premiers appels publics à l’épargne de Milkyway Networks, C-Com Satellite Systems, Neuromedix, Saxon Financial Inc., le Fonds de découvertes médicales canadiennes inc., le Canadian Science and Technology Fund Inc., Annidis Corporation, Aztech Corporation, Magor Corporation, et de nombreuses ventes de parts et d’actifs et de nombreux placements privés et publics. Me McCunn est également le fondateur et le conseiller juridique de deux incubateurs de technologie, à savoir Starting Start-ups et Bioquest Innovations, ainsi que fondateur et conseiller juridique d’une banque d’investissement dans les sciences de la vie, la LOM-Bioquest.

Tim a également une expérience du travail auprès d’organisations sans but lucratif et d’entités publiques. Il a offert des conseils sur les conseils d’administration et lagouvernance, des services de rédaction législative, et des avis juridiques sur une grande variété de questions, ainsi que des services de représentations au gouvernement. En 1992, il a été détaché auprès du Bureau du Conseil privé à titre d’avocat-conseil afin d’offrir des conseils sur la rédaction de la Loi sur le référendum, ainsi que sur d’autres questions liées au référendum constitutionnel de 1992. Tim a offert des services d’avis juridiques et d’autres conseils à de nombreuses organisations, y compris de nombreuses sociétés d’État et associations nationales. L’expérience de Tim dans le domaine des lois fédérales comprend aussi la privatisation de sociétés d’État, et il a comparu à titre de conseiller juridique devant le Tribunal canadien du commerce international et le Tribunal de la concurrence au sujet de questions concernant les douanes et la taxe d’accise et de questions sur la protection des renseignements et de la vie privée.

Tim est parfaitement bilingue et a été reconnu, à moult reprises, dans le répertoire juridique canadien Lexpert, dans le domaine du droit commercial corporatif, des entreprises de taille moyenne et des fonds d’investissement privés.

  • Expérience pertinente :
    • Reçu au barreau de l’Ontario, 1987
    • LL.B., Université d’Ottawa, 1985
    • B.A., Université McGill, 1982
    Membre/adhésion :
    • Barreau du Haut-Canada
    • Association du Barreau canadien
    • Association du Barreau de l’Ontario
    • Association du Barreau du comté de Carleton
    Activités professionnelle :
    • Comité de rédaction, Securities Law and Practice, 3e édition (jusqu’en 2013)
    • Directeur - Smarter Alloys (de 2014 jusqu’à ce jour)
    • Fondateur et secrétaire général - Biovest Corp. I (de 2010 à 2013)
    • Directeur, Verio Therapeutics (2009‑2010)
    • Directeur et secrétaire général - Annidis Corporation (de 2007 à 2013)
    • Président et directeur - CogniSens Inc. (de 2009 à 2012)
    • Président, Natural Health Inc. (2014‑2015)
    • Membre – Conseil consultatif de l’École de gestion de l’Université d’Ottawa (de 2005 à 2007)
    • Directeur - NeuroMedix (2005‑2006)
    • Membre – Comité consultatif sur la commercialisation de l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa (de 2003 à 2005)
    • Directeur et président – C‑Com Satellites Systems (de 1999 à 2001)
    • Fondateur et directeur - Technology Investments Management Inc. (de 1998 à 2002)
    • Membre – Comité du droit commercial auprès de l’Association du barreau canadien (Ontario) 1998 à 2000
    • Fondateur et directeur - Starting Start-ups (de 1996 à 1998)
    • Membre – Comité du droit des valeurs mobilières auprès de l’Association du barreau canadien (Ontario) de 1996 à 1998
    • Membre – Ottawa Life Science Council (de 2001 à 2005)
    • Représentant-conseil pour la Campagne Centraide (1995)
    • Conseiller juridique et délégué élu à diverses conventions au leadership pour un parti politique fédéral et un parti politique provincial (de 1982 à 1997)
    Articles/publications :
Chercher les gens par nom de famille